Some Exclusions Apply

28 09 2011

It is inevitable that in the course of a person’s life, that person will be excluded from something.

Sometimes you’re excluded on purpose, because people are jerks. This happens most often in the adolescent years, when some people aren’t just jerks—they’re practically diagnosable sociopaths.

Yes, I have baggage. Loads of it. But that’s not what this post is about.

Sometimes you’re excluded by mistake. Whether it’s an oversight, or perhaps someone thinks you’re simply not interested in something…you feel left out.

Being a kid is hard. You get picked last for kickball, you don’t get invited to parties. It sucks, but if everything works out right, you grow up and move on.

Being an adult is hard. You’ve grown up and think you’ve moved on, but one day someone unknowingly says something and you’ve magically become 11 years old.

Today I decided being excluded by oversight really sucks worse—it sends the subconscious message of, “You’re so unimportant that we didn’t even notice you,” and really, if there’s anything that plays to my inner heckler, it’s the idea that I’m insignificant.

Odds are if I pointed out the oversight I could be involved, but my heckler tells me that’s not the case. Either way, I certainly can’t risk the rejection.

I’ll just sit here in the corner being emo. That’ll be awesome.

Actions

Information

6 responses

30 09 2011
Abigail (@skywaitress)

Yeah… I feel like this all the time. I’ve even considered deactivating my Facebook because seeing statues and pictures of “friends” having fun without me is almost too hard sometimes. Being left out sucks.

28 09 2011
davesdanessa

hmmm…that reminds me of my ward out here…doesn’t help that we are all facebook “friends” so then I hear about the “awesome girls night” that I never recieved an invite too….can I join you in the corner? I’ll paint your fingernails black, and you can draw some japanese figure that is supposed to represent “peace” when it really means “stupid” on my arm with magic marker.

28 09 2011
Caroline

This is how I feel RIGHT NOW AT THIS VERY MINUTE. creepy.

28 09 2011
Janice

I love you. And agree that being left out sucks…intentional or not.

28 09 2011
rachel

they are just jealous of your awesomeness! hey, wanna go shopping?

28 09 2011
Annette

Wow. I could have written this. I’ve been there in the unintentional oversight corner many, many times. And yes, I feel like a pathetic 13YO again. (13 was worse than 11 for me. Yeah. Baggage and all…)

Leave a Reply

