Don’t Mess with Date Night

21 09 2011

Friday night Car and I went on a date. I know!  Like, babysitters and everything! Okay, we didn’t really pay the babysitters, since they were my niece and nephew and babysit in exchange for pizza (best deal EVER), but still. This is not something we do often.

We really need to go on dates more often, because I like my husband. As much as I love my kids, I like spending time with Car away from the small people in our life, as they tend to demand attention. Lots and lots of attention. And let’s be honest—when Car comes home at the end of the day, if all I’ve done is hang out with the boys and run errands, I’m not exactly runway-ready.

So I put on a pretty shirt and some makeup. I spent extra time on my hair and I even—brace yourselves—put on perfume. We went out to dinner and finally, two months after its release, went to see the last Harry Potter movie. Yay for being adults!

We got to the theater just as the movie was starting, and I immediately noticed two teenage boys up in the far corner of the theater were talking. Loudly. It’s okay, I told myself. They’ll stop in a second. The movie is starting.

They didn’t stop. They kept talking at full volume, and I was getting mad. I realize two movie tickets might not be a big deal to some people, but when you’re strapped for cash and you hardly ever leave the house anyway, it’s a pretty big deal. Plus talking during a movie is just plain rude.

The couple next to us turned around and called, “Hey! Shut up!” The boys either didn’t hear them or simply ignored them and kept talking.

I was seething. It was my date night.

Enough was enough.

I handed my wallet to Car and stalked up the stairs.

“Listen,” I hissed, “I go to about three movies every year and this one of them. Either you shut your mouths or I will shut them for you.”

Here’s the thing: Am I argumentative? Ornery? Mulish? Yes, yes, and yes. However, I’m normally quite conflict-avoidant in this sort of situation. I’ll hope someone else takes care of things or, if worse comes to worst, I’ll go find a manager and ask him or her to take care of it.

But I was pissed. Also, I wasn’t going to miss any of the movie because some dumbass kids wouldn’t shut up.

Of course, once I was in my seat, sanity kicked in and here’s what went through my head:

  1. How, exactly, would I shut their mouths for them?
  2. What if they’re in a gang?
  3. What if they have knives?
  4. Or guns?
  5. Or scary mothers?
  6. Or scary friends?
  7. Oh, crap. I hope I don’t die just because I wanted to watch the last Harry Potter movie on the big screen.

Fortunately, we didn’t hear a peep from them for the rest of the movie. And look! I’m still here AND I’m remarkably uninjured! Hooray!

I’m thinking maybe if we go on dates more often I won’t be quite so…territorial about them. It’s worth a try, right? That’ll be my persuasive argument. “We need to go on more dates so I stop scaring children.”

Best. Reason. Ever.

 

Actions

Information

5 responses

28 09 2011
LaurieBee

Oh, you and I would get along famously! Atta girl!

21 09 2011
Elizabeth

You rock! You’ve just done what every one of us wishes we would do. And now you’re one up on the movie score: I still haven’t seen Cars 2.

21 09 2011
davesdanessa

do you think dave would take me out if i used that excuse?

21 09 2011
Ian

This is why we always got along so well.

21 09 2011
Abigail (@skywaitress)

You go Mama! I HATE rude people in movies and I go fairly often.

Last Halloween Joel and I were at a scary movie (it’s tradition) that was violent enough that even *we* got carded. Somehow though there was a big group of teenyboppers sitting behind us giggling and being obnoxious. There was no parent in sight so I turned around and threatened to get management to check IDs again. Didn’t hear a peep out of them the rest of the movie.

Sometimes you just gotta do what you gotta do. Date night is important!

Leave a Reply

