Curse You, Perry the Platypus!

10 08 2011

‘Round these parts we love Phineas and Ferb. If you don’t know who Phineas and Ferb are, you either don’t have contact with young children or you have no exposure to the Disney Channel. (Being cable-free, our access comes from Netflix. This is a beautiful thing, as I don’t have to endure random scrolling ads for their other horrifying programs.)

This is Perry the Platypus, aka Agent P.

Words cannot express my great love for Perry the Platypus. He’s easily the best part of Phineas and Ferb. Don’t bother arguing with me, people. Y’all know how that ends.

So we’ve been watching a little too much Phineas and Ferb these days, but it’s a welcome change from Dora and Diego (or, in the case of Big G, documentaries about volcanoes and space). The kids enjoy it, I enjoy it—heck, even Car enjoys it, and he’s not much of a TV person.

Anyway, today was a pretty average day. High points, low points, y’all have read about how things go. The boys have started wrestling a lot with each other (or is it “wrassling” when little kids do it?) and that usually ends in tears, at which point I get to give the “that’s what happens when you play rough” speech. Good times.

Evening rolled around and we gathered the troops for dinner, at which point Big G came running into the kitchen and promptly popped Little G straight in the nose with his fist.

What. The. Hell.

You know a kid is perfectly aware of what he’s done wrong when you find him hiding under a desk. But you know, Little G was more stunned than hurt (go figure) and what I wanted to know more than anything else was what Big G could possibly have been thinking. It’s what every parent wants to know…well, about pretty much everything our kids do. Frankly, I didn’t expect a good answer, so what he said really surprised me.

“I just wanted to see how Perry does it.”

Oh, crap.

We had a conversation about cartoons vs. reality and TV vs. real life. He apologized to Little G and I learned a valuable lesson: kids are dumb.

Ha! I kid. Seriously, though, it never crossed my mind that my child would try to imitate a cartoon secret agent platypus. Even typing that makes me giggle uncontrollably. I suppose I could write a few paragraphs on the importance of what kids watch on TV, but you’re smart people. I think you get that.

Are we going to stop watching Phineas and Ferb? Nah. It’s too hilarious. Will I continue to remind him that TV and real life are separate entities? You bet your sweet bippy I will.

*Big G says that since he can’t practice punching his little brother, we should create some sort of 3D model of Dr. Doofenshmirtz (Perry’s nemesis) that he can practice punching.

**I suggested one of those inflatable things that kids punch that bounce back up. You know, the ones with the rounded bottom? He wouldn’t go for it. Apparently those have a little too much fight in them.

 

Actions

Information

3 responses

29 08 2011
Liz

We are huge Phineas and Ferb fans at our house and I have to say I laughed out loud watching Dr Doofenshmirtz doing the macarena!

16 08 2011
Becca

love this show! i watched it in florida with my nieces and nephews.

11 08 2011
Peter Gessel

Aren’t you a little young to be imitating a secret agent platypus?

Leave a Reply

