That’s Just How I Curl

17 07 2011

A few days ago Big G came into the bathroom while I was getting ready for work.

“Mom, what are you doing?”

“I’m getting ready for work.”

“No, what are you doing?”

“I’m putting on makeup.”

“No! What are you doing?

“Oh. I’m curling my eyelashes.”

Pause.

“Why?”

I stopped to think about it. Every day I place what looks like an implement of torture right next to my eyeball. How is this a good idea? Who thought this up in the first place?

I gave him the only answer I could think of: “To make my eyes look bigger.”

He looked at me suspiciously, his gaze lingering on my eyes. “Oh,” he said, and walked away.

I’m glad he was satisfied with the explanation. I, on the other hand, now find myself wondering what the hell I’m doing every time I pick up the eyelash curler.

I haven’t figured it out, but in the meantime, my lashes are long and curly and my eyes do look big.

So there.

Actions

Information

3 responses

17 07 2011
andygirl

so there!

17 07 2011
danessa

the things we women do to get that ideal perception of beauty….Let’s list some of them shall we? Make-up, bras, high heeled shoes, pantyhose, plucking/tweezing/waxing/shaving, various “shaping” underclothing, long nails, etc. Funny thing, half the time, our husbands don’t even notice when we do these things in the first place….OH well. at least I look pretty…(ha ha)

17 07 2011
Holly

Is that your face? It kind of looks like your face. If so, how did you take that picture?
I ask too many questions, don’t I?
(You do have very pretty lashes.)

Leave a Reply

