Your Kids Could Use a New Hobby

4 06 2011

I love where I live.

Today I was looking at information about the County Fair. I’ve never actually been to the county fair—I’m a little freaked out by all that pie baking and livestock showing. Also, I’m pretty sure it smells like poo. However, my anti-fair stance might change this year, as I discovered the fair holds a fantastic yearly competition:

Now, a taxidermy competition is plenty awesome, but it gets even better when you see the first class of competition:

No. Way.

This, of course, piqued my interested. Are there really a lot of budding taxidermists out there? I Googled “taxidermy for kids” to find an answer. Strangely, there’s not a lot of information out there about classes for Big G unless I want to move to Guyana (I do not). Apparently the best way to get Big G involved in taxidermy is to encourage him to collect roadkill.

I’m not making that up.

From Amy’s Animal Art Taxidermy: “My interest began as a hobby at age 13, when I would pick up roadkill and practice skinning and tanning the hides.”

Amy, now in her 20s, is an accomplished taxidermist with many happy customers:

I don’t know that “happy” is necessarily the adjective I’d use, but what do I know?

Ah, screw it. I don’t know anything. I’ll just take the kids to Build-A-Bear. That’s pretty much the same thing, right?

*Best summer camp course ever: “Mad Science: Plush Toy Taxidermy.”

Actions

Information

7 responses

5 06 2011
Mel

I cannot wait to tell my nephew about this… he’s 10. My sil will love me even more. HAHAHA

5 06 2011
rachel

oh. my. crap. where to start, where to start? let me first say that if your kid is interested in taxidermy, they are most likely a budding psychopath. second, i had no idea that taxidermy was even part of a county or state fair. i thought the animals were all alive there. which brings me to my last point. yes, fairs do smell like poo. and there are carnies there. eek.

4 06 2011
zstitches

Build-A-Bear is TOTALLY the same thing, YES. (I have always thought Build-A-Bear was stupid for that reason. Why pay to do the work they should have done for you at the factory?)

4 06 2011
danessa

Ha! Ha ha ha! totally made my day!

4 06 2011
Holly

This shouldn’t surprise me, and yet it did. I thought Playdough and glitter made a big mess…

4 06 2011
meredith

THIS is why i love you.

4 06 2011
Julie

Thanks for sharing. I have forwarded your post to a few of my friends that may have some children that could be interested in participating.

Leave a Reply

