(not much) More Than Meets the Eye

16 05 2011

The boys are currently obsessed with the old-school Transformers cartoon. I’m mostly okay with this fact, because I grew up with Transformers and obviously I turned out just fine.

Shut up.

I’ve discovered a major problem with repeated viewings of the same episodes of the Transformers: I start to overthink it. Really, any thinking at all is a bad idea when you’re watching the Transformers. As Car pointed out this morning, the Transformers cartoon appeals to kids because not only are there transforming robots, but the plotlines develop in the same way children’s play develops. Yesterday Megatron had to have someone else shoot him when he was transformed into a gun, but today he can shoot all on his own! Why? He just can! Stop asking questions and make awesome laser shooting noises!

That thought was my first stop on the crazy train: What kind of crappy leader of a group of evil robots transforms into a gun that has to be fired by someone else? Seriously, Megatron is the worst supervillain ever. I only accept him as leader of the Decepticons because his second-in-command is that conniving bitch Starscream, and if I had to listen to Starscream lord over the Decepticons all day I’d shank somebody.

A couple of days ago I suddenly had a vision of an Autobot meet-n-greet. I’ve laughed about this for days, so it doesn’t matter that Car just looked at me funny when I told him about it. True genius is frequently misunderstood…as is my sense of humor. Interpret that as you will.

Jazz: “So, what do you transform into?”
Bumblebee: “A Volkswagen Beetle. You?”
Jazz: “A Porsche 911 Turbo.”
Bumblebee: “Oh.” *pause* “Blaster transforms into a cassette deck. How lame is that?”

I’ll be here all week. Please tip your waitresses.

Actions

Information

10 responses

22 05 2011
Charlotte

My kids were watching the old episodes, too. I watched half of one and couldn’t bring myself to finish. It was almost as bad as the time I caught a Saved By the Bell episode as an adult.

16 05 2011
zstitches

Love it. We geniuses are so often not properly appreciated by our nearest & dearest.

16 05 2011
T

I know… it’s horribly wrong that the only transformers I even recognized are Optimus Prime and Bumblebee…

There’s about a two year gap in my cartoon knowledge… y’know, when I was “too cool” to watch them – ending with my babysitting and watching them because I “had” too… I also missed out on He-man and She-ra this way….

16 05 2011
Jenny

I don’t know if you can actually call it “missing out” when referring to He-Man and She-Ra.

16 05 2011
Rachel

Ha, so true! There aren’t any animals in transformers, but i am extremely bothered by the fact that in cartoons, some animals go naked, some wear full clothing, and some wear only pants or only a shirt. Why the inconsistecy, within one cartoon? Gah, it bugs the crap out of me!

16 05 2011
Jenny

Why you gotta hate on Mickey Mouse, Rachel?

16 05 2011
Erika Hill

I also find your meet and greet hilarious, and Car is silly if he doesn’t appreciate it. Brent just sold a bunch of Transformers toys on ebay to supplement his comic book fund, but when they were around I did think it was silly that some of them transform into tanks and sports cars and some of them are boom boxes and strange robot dogs (really? He doesn’t transform into a fire hydrant or anything? He’s just a robot dog that can transform into a different robot dog?).

16 05 2011
Michael

Hey – Starscream is AWESOME. He was my favorite as a kid. I totally agree with the tactical liability created by handing over “trigger control” to another member of your evil organization. That’s just not sensible.

16 05 2011
Jenny

Further proof we never would’ve worked as a couple…

16 05 2011
Mimi

Lol Wow, can I just tell you how much more this makes me love you? Hee hee

Leave a Reply

