I’m Only Thinking of Him

17 02 2011

I’m only thinking of him,
I’m only thinking of him,
Whatever I may do or say,
I’m only thinking of him!
In the very heart of me
There is Christian charity
I’m only thinking and worrying about him!
~ Man of La Mancha

There are times when I wonder why Car stays married to me (correct answer: because I’m awesome).

At bedtime a few nights ago he was reading the usual bedtime story (Planets, Stars, And Galaxies: A Visual Encyclopedia of Our Universe) (What, that’s not what your 5-year-old requests every night?) and he had to put up with this:

Car: “A neutron star isn’t really a star. It’s more like a giant atomic nucleus—”

Me: *Unable to ignore the fact that he pronounced it nuke-u-lus* “A what?”

Car: “A giant atomic nuke-u-lus—”

Me: “I’m sorry, what was that?”

Big G: “He said a giant atomic nuke-u-lus!”

Me: *horrified Big G is now repeating it* “A nuke-u-lus?”

Car: *glaring at me* “Fine. Nucleus. Did you want to read this?”

Me: “Not really. Carry on.”

Fourteen years next month, people. The man is a saint.

Even if he does mispronounce nucleus.

Actions

Information

4 responses

6 03 2011
Like Buttah « Like Swimming

[…] remember how we read about space every night, right? Currently we’re reading The Atlas of the Universe, which Big G checked out from the […]

18 02 2011
meredith

this whole scene makes me love you even more.

18 02 2011
andygirl

hah! it’s like we’re soul mates. if Car ever leaves you, marry me?

17 02 2011
Wendy Sparrow

Wow… you quoted one of the best songs in Man of La Mancha and you’ll have been with your spouse for 14 years this year??? Dude, it’s like you’re my evil twin!

Which… I’m okay with.

Leave a Reply

