The Mind is a Terrible Thing

28 01 2011

Hi! My name is Jenny, and I’ll be your blogger today. You may remember me from back when I used to blog, you know, every day. Lately I’ve been slacking terribly, which is sad since I’m less than two months from the end of my Year o’ Blogging.

Yet as I type about being a slacker, I have to laugh, because my last post was on Wednesday. In blogging terms, that’s not exactly an eternity ago. And if I happen to fall asleep on the couch instead of posting, we’ll have to assume I needed a nap more than you needed my witty banter.

Today we’ll discuss my mental problems. Not the depression thing. No, we’ve beaten that dead horse. Let’s talk about how I yell at the TV—specifically, Steve Songs.

Steve Roslonek is the music guy on PBS Kids. He does interstitial bits called “Music Time with Steve Songs” and is, as best I can tell, contractually obligated to wear only red polo shirts. Some of the songs are cute and catchy—my personal favorite is “So Many Shapes,” which occasionally pops into my head for no reason. At one point I realized that my brain had translated the lyric “Michelangelo, Picasso and Van Gogh all had to know how to draw a line…” into “Michelangelo, Picasso and De Gaulle…” I have absolutely no explanation for that, although I’m sure De Gaulle did, in fact, have to know how to draw a line. That’s some sound reasoning there.

Anyway, the whole point of this is to share the “Stop, Look, Listen” song:

Some of you can guess what I yell and when I yell it, right?

“That’s not the Safety Dance!”


Oh, Men Without Hats. People, if that video doesn’t make you snort with laughter, you’re dead inside. Or possibly far more sane than I am.

**That boy in the yellow shirt in the “Stop, Look, Listen” video is totally into his dance. Awesome.

Actions

Information

3 responses

31 01 2011
Peter

I can’t believe I hadn’t seen the Safety Dance video before today. I’m convinced that Men Without Hats somehow stole the video out of my dreams.

btw, another great Safety Dance video is Artie’s version from the Joss Whedon-directed episode of Glee. Good stuff, even if it’s midget-free.

29 01 2011
andygirl

so I’ve always made up my own words to that song (in my head it makes sense): we can dance. we can dance. everybody take off your pants.

it’s just catchier.

28 01 2011
Rachel

Two things:
1. Way to use interstitial! It’s your fancy word of the day.
2. I’m certain that Charles DeGaulle did know his lines. Van Gogh, however, didn’t make too many straight lines in his paintings. So your version is more accurate. Very astute of you.

Leave a Reply

