I Feel Compelled

10 12 2010

After last night’s post (which I’m honestly too scared to reread), I feel it’s necessary to reassure you I haven’t relapsed. I’m just not coping well with my new completely involuntary diet of rice and water. (Although I was able to stomach tomato soup last night. Bonus!)

Big G likes his life very scheduled. This is at direct odds with my total inability to schedule things that aren’t absolutely necessary (doctor’s appointments, etc.). Because of this, I love school days. Preschool gives me 3.5 hours (three days a week) that I don’t have to attempt to plot out all 86,400 seconds of the day in advance for Big G. Yes, I Googled the number of seconds in a day for dramatic effect. You’re welcome. Also, shut up. It was easier than using the calculator.

This morning we had the usual conversation, but with a slight variation that made me giggle, so I thought I’d share.

Big G: What are we doing today?
Me: You’re going to school!
Big G: Again?!
Me: You know, when you’re in kindergarten, you’ll go to school every day.
Big G: That’s impossible!

I didn’t have the heart to tell him he’d be doing that for at least the next 13 years of his life. I’m a pretty awesome mom like that.

Actions

Information

3 responses

10 12 2010
ashlee

I agree, telling my kiddos on bad days that it’s not going to end for over 17 years (we haven’t let them think that college is optional) is even depressing for me!.

10 12 2010
andygirl

okay, so I’ve been a little MIA. don’t hate me that I’m out of the loop. what’s wrong? have you the flu?

10 12 2010
meredith

you made THAT creature? huh. crazy talk.

Leave a Reply

