Another Peevish Pharmacy Post

6 11 2010

Notice how my angry pharmacy posts pop up when I work 10-hour shifts? How very coincidental!

Customer: “Do I have refills on my diabetic test strips?”
Me: “The prescription expired seven months ago.”
Customer: “Oh. Well, I only have a few left.”

I check her profile. She last filled test strips eight months ago.

Eight. Months.

Today she comes in and begs us to float her some test strips, because she’s totally out and she really needs them and what will she do without test strips because then she won’t know what her blood sugar is and maybe even go into a diabetic coma and then won’t we feel so bad!

Okay, I’m exaggerating that last bit. But really? She couldn’t manage to get a new prescription during those eight months?

Bah.

I’ve been compiling a new list of petty annoyances:

  • Remember when I talked about my archnemesis, the drive-thru? I’m adding a new item to the etiquette list: When I ask for your picture ID, simply holding it up to the camera doesn’t cut it. Who even does that? (Spoiler: our customers.)
  • And not to harp on that whole picture ID thing (I know, I know. I bring it up in every pharmacy post.), but your LDS temple recommend is not an acceptable form of ID. I’m sure you’re a great person and all, and I’m happy that you’re worthy to attend the temple…but no. Not happening.
  • Two weeks ago, I returned 36 prescriptions that never got picked up. We do this once a week, and always have at least 20 to put back. Why are you people going to the doctor if you don’t actually need medicine? It annoys me.
  • This conversation needs to stop happening:
    Customer: “I should have a prescription called in.”
    Me: “I’m sorry. There’s nothing here.”
    Customer: “But the doctor’s office said they called it in.”
    Me: “Well…I’m sorry. We haven’t received anything yet.”
    Customer: “But they said they called it in!”
    I’d like nothing better than to wave my magic wand and make prescriptions magically appear, but thus far that particular skill has eluded me. I promise I’ll let you know when I get it figured out.
  • If your prescription was filled over two weeks ago, we’ve returned it to stock. Seriously. Do you know how many prescriptions we’d have sitting around if we didn’t do that? Also, insurance companies don’t really like it when we accept money from them for medications you don’t pick up. They’re funny like that. So yeah, you’re going to have to give me a little time to get it ready again.
  • I’m really, really sorry your insurance company requires a prior authorization on your medication, but I can’t force the prescription through. That’s something that has to be resolved between your insurance and your doctor, so please stop getting angry with me when it doesn’t work.

Okay, this last one? Pay attention, folks. I’m aware that things happen to your prescriptions. You’ve got kids, things spill, etc. That said, when you hand me a prescription that looks like it has bodily fluids smeared across the surface, please tell me what happened. The phrase, “I’m so sorry, I spilled my coffee” goes a long way toward allaying my fear of whatever horrible diseases I’m going to contract from touching that nasty piece of paper you’re handing to me.

Unless, you know, it really is some sort of bodily fluid. GACK.

Thank you, lovely readers, for letting me get that off my chest. I feel much better.

*Really, WordPress Proofreader? You don’t know what an archnemesis is? If I had any respect for you, it would totally be gone now.

Actions

Information

4 responses

7 11 2010
Aimee

Are you serious about the temple recommend? Who, even in Utah, would be daft enough to think that was an ID!! Wow.

7 11 2010
talesofmy30s

You had quite the night, but the test strips? That takes the cake. Or the vegetables.

6 11 2010
Julie {Angry Julie Monday}

LMAO, I work ten hour shifts every day at work. Now you know why I am angry…

6 11 2010
Mrs. Organic

These are all great. Sorry you had to pull an all-dayer on such a gorgeous weekend.

Leave a Reply

