Dear Hoodlums

30 10 2010

On Monday my family carved pumpkins. It was a huge undertaking, as children and pumpkins are incompatible with cleanliness and sanity, but it was family night and Big G had been begging to make jack-o-lanterns. At the end of the night, we had three silly pumpkins and when we lit the candles, my boys squealed with delight.

Every night this week, Big G asked if we could light up the pumpkins, so we went out on the porch (it’s been really cold this week), light the candles, and oooh and ahhh. Little G’s favorite pastime over the last five days has been seeing just how fast he can blow those candles out once mom and dad step back. It’s pretty cute, even though it’s kind of annoying.

I know you really don’t care about any of this. I know I’m writing this for me, not for you, and that the writing of it fixes nothing.

But here’s the deal: you didn’t do this to me.

You did it to him.

I know who you are. I know where you live. I’ll let it slide just this once, but if you mess with my kid or anything he loves ever again? It won’t go so well for you.

You really don’t want to test me on this one.

Sincerely,

Mama Bear

Actions

Information

10 responses

31 10 2010
Cat Lady

I’m so sorry this happened. But payback can be sweet too. If you put out another one tonight, pour some food colouring or clothes dye (a sissy colour like pink) into a little dish in the bottom. They won’t see it in the dark, and if they stomp on it, their running shoes might get stained a shade they won’t be thrilled with. Happy Halloween to all—I’m working nights so I’ll miss it.

31 10 2010
Kristina P.

Oh, that’s so sad! Someone deserves a throatpunch.

31 10 2010
Alicia

That would be what happened to us last year. It is too bad we have to have the discussion that there are people who are deliberately mean with a 5 year old.

I felt the same way as you in needing to vent. So we wrote a poster board and posted it (they lived across the street). (Thankfully they moved 2 months later…no problems this year) So sorry!!

31 10 2010
danessa

ooohhh big meany jerks!

31 10 2010
ZippyChix

So irritating that those hoodlums have nothing better to do with their time. Makes me sad!

31 10 2010
Mimi

That happened to us when I was in 5th grade… I LOVE carving pumpkins, it made me so sad! I don’t think I’d let it slide if you know who did it… I’d march right up to their house and rip ’em a new one. Jerks. I have an extra pumpkin we haven’t carved if you want it. 🙂

31 10 2010
Brandi

I know how you feel. When someone messes with my kids the mom Bear just comes out in you. You can’t help it. Your to nice. I think you should go over and complain to the parents of the kid that did this to yours. Kids are just so mean . Hope you guys are doing well. Talk to you later.

31 10 2010
Ian

Same thing happened to me at that age. Puts hair on their chest. And it might just be the thing that prevents him from doing the same thing when he’s older.

31 10 2010
Stefani

ohhh! I would be livid. Explain to him that some people are just plain mean!

31 10 2010
ashlee

Most frustrating thing to come home too! Poor G!

Leave a Reply

