Oh, Yeah!

5 10 2010

Being a kid is hard. I’m not being facetious—it really is. Or at least, it was for me. I always felt like I was on the outside looking in (that’s right, I lived the fricking Staind song).

So you can imagine my relief when I found something that would ensure no child would ever be left out. A universal token of acceptance, as it were. A magical key.

Behold:

That’s right, folks. Forget Pokemon, Yu-Gi-Oh, Bakugan, and even baseball cards—those times are past.

Step aside, Pikachu. It’s Kool-Aid Man’s time to shine.

Even better? Each card is only 99¢ and it comes with a 6-pack of sugary goodness!

I know!

And they aren’t just attractive collector’s items:

I’m so glad Kraft took the time to let kids know just how multipurpose the new Kool-Aid Man cards can be! A house of cards? A Memory Game? Cards in the bike spokes? What kind of unholy genius came up with these innovative ideas?

You’ll have to excuse me now. I need to go buy all the Kool-Aid Bursts at my local grocery store. I’d be so ashamed if my kids were the only ones in the neighborhood without a full set.

*Random Trivia: Did you know the predecessor to Kool-Aid was called Fruit Smack? Now there’s a beverage name worthy of a hearty “Oh, yeah!”

**When was the last time you drank Kool-Aid? I took a sip this afternoon and people? That is some nasty stuff.

***Because I love you, a completely safe-for-work and totally relevant Family Guy clip:

*Today’s list of items the WordPress Proofreader hates:

  • Kool-Aid
  • Bakugan
  • Pikachu

Strangely, it’s just fine with Pokemon and Yu-Gi-Oh. I think it might be getting kickbacks.

Actions

Information

6 responses

25 10 2010
Lizzy

ha! I totally dyed my hair with kool aid too!!

its all we ever drank when we were kids, so as soon as I moved out, I was happy to buy real juice. I have never looked back.

6 10 2010
rachel

hey, i noticed that the grumpy old troll toned up a bit, too. i’m cool like that.
mimi, i’m not a fatty! it’s a baby!

6 10 2010
Mimi

Dude, that’s awesome. We drank Kool-Aid (well, Flavorite Powdered Drink Mix) ALL THE TIME!! Perhaps that’s why most of us are fatties… hmmmmmm.

😀

6 10 2010
zstitches

I think we’re one of the only large families I know of that never has Kool-Aid around–I shun it because there’s no nutritional value to warrant the stain capacity. My husband does buy Country Time lemonade or Tang, but at least those dyes aren’t *quite* so vivid.

Kool-Aid as a hair dye sounds interesting, though.

5 10 2010
andygirl

who knew they still made kool-aid? I wasn’t allowed to drink it, so when I was at friends’ houses, I’d down the stuff. one thing it came in handy for? coloring my hair all sorts of crazy colors in high school. sent my mother through the roof.

and since when did Kool-Aid Man get so buff? he used to be fat right?

6 10 2010
Peter

Oh yeah, he used to be fat, because he was just a pitcher with arms and legs. Sometime in the last two decades he’s worked out and managed to grow a torso, kind of like the Grumpy Old Troll did on Dora the Explorer (why yes, my life is pathetic, why do you ask?). At least somebody told him to put on pants when he got the torso.

Leave a Reply

