Five Years Ago

5 09 2010

Five years ago–on Labor Day, of course–I gave birth to a 3 lb. 15 oz. boy.

Big G is a miracle baby in so many ways. I had three failed pregnancies before him. My perinatologist put me on experimental medication in the hopes it would keep me pregnant long enough to deliver a viable baby. (Actual quote from my peri: “Well, it worked in mice.”) At 31 weeks, I went into preterm labor and my water broke. The neonatologist came in to talk us through the basics of neonatal intensive care. The doctors prepped me. After I delivered, my baby was whisked through a window into the waiting arms of the NICU staff. It was exhausting, terrifying, and exhilarating.

I was finally the mommy of a live baby.

Happy birthday, Big G. You make my world a beautiful place.

Actions

Information

7 responses

6 09 2011
Super Six « Like Swimming

[…] not going to spend a lot of time talking about Big G’s birth and how happy I was to finally have a live baby, because you’ve heard it before, and again…really […]

8 09 2010
Molly

Happy Birthday Big G!!!

6 09 2010
Mundane Monday – 9/6/10 « Like Swimming

[…] Big G turned 5. […]

6 09 2010
Mom

What a beautiful tribute!

5 09 2010
Jenny

Jenny,

I remember when my mom told me you were FINALLY “pregnant…” People you don’t even know were praying for you… Seems like just yesterday. Now, you have a “Birthday Boy” with a little brother to boot!

H*A*P*P*Y B*I*R*T*H*D*A*Y*!*!*! B*I*G**G*!*!*!*!

Way to go Jenny!

5 09 2010
Erin

Happy Birthday Big G! September babies are great. Mine’s tomorrow!

5 09 2010
Jessica G.

Love the crying pirate picture! Be sure to keep that one in the “payback” file. 🙂

Leave a Reply

