An Open Memo to Advertising Agencies

22 08 2010

Your job isn’t easy. I get that. But once the word “poo” is uttered during a pitch meeting, I think it’s time to regroup.

Are you even trying?

Horrified props go to whoever came up with the “Live Poo Free” logo in the bottom right. You know, the one that looks like a poo fingerprint. Am I the only one who turns that phrase into a “Live! Nude! Girls!” kind of thing? “Live! Poo! Free!”

Shut up. I do these things for my own amusement.

Also, typing the phrase “Live Poo” has now reminded me of Mr. Hankey, the Christmas Poo. I’ll be giggling for the rest of the night.

So, Huggies Ad Execs, if your intention with that ad was for me to end up walking around the house saying, “Howdy-Ho!” in a high-pitched voice while imagining a singing, dancing poo, then I say nicely played.

Actions

Information

9 responses

12 10 2011
I Already Have My BS in Pooponomics « Like Swimming

[…] Advertising executives are aware of this crucial time in parents’ lives and (being the soul-sucking bottom-feeders they are) they do their best to capitalize on it. I’m not fond of this. As relaxed as I am about describing the consistency of my son’s last bowel movement, I balk when I see an ad that features the word “poo” in large bold letters. […]

3 09 2010
Hilary

Eww… poo….
Really, they should make us think of fields of flowers and smiley faces…

23 08 2010
Mimi

Ditto to what Rachel said. I love the new Huggies ads. 😀 I got a coupon book from them that had a baby on the front making a crazy poo face and said “Poo happens.” I love it!

23 08 2010
Molly

I can’t stop giggling at Live! Poo! Free!

Seriously. This post has been saved in my reader all day. and I keep laughing at the poo. I’m secretly 12.

23 08 2010
rachel

perhaps i’m the only one, but i think this ad is awesome! lets face facts: baby wipes are for poopy baby butts. there’s no way around it. and no one likes to have poo on their hands! i only wish i had come up with the “live poo free” logo. but you know my feelings on poo.

23 08 2010
Peter

I’m surprised they did such a crappy (sorry, I couldn’t help myself) job with this ad, because their recent Huggies Jeans ad is awesome:

Of course, the very best part of the commercial is the comment that I saw right below the video: “justin bieber sure knows how to dress.”

23 08 2010
Erin

I think that’s an advertising fail! I get the sentiment behind it but not the classiest way to express it. I don’t even know if you can express that in a classy way.

23 08 2010
talesofmy30s

Live Poo Free? Don’t they know that constipation sucks?

23 08 2010
Geek.Girl.Wife

That is a crazy ad right there! Shame on them for that mess! Great post!

Leave a Reply

