With a Little Help from My Friends

21 08 2010

I had a snarky post all written up in my head, and then Car totally killed it. Jerk. Also, what did I tell you? He is the slayer of dreams. Oh, and my mother-in-law had a stroke today. There is that. Makes it a little more difficult to make with the funny.

I’m feeling a little fragile. Not like before, when I felt brittle – this is different. I kind of feel like I need a hug (and y’all know how I feel about touching).

Tonight I’m going to share a few things for which I feel overwhelming gratitude.

  • I’m grateful for Big G, whose empathy and love are a gift from God.
    Big G: “Mom, why do you have sad in your eyes?”
    Me: “Grandma is sick and at the hospital.”
    Big G: “Will a hug make you feel better?”
  • I’m grateful for caring family members.
  • I’m grateful for a good friend who was willing to take the boys on a moment’s notice so Car could spend time with his mom.
  • I’m grateful for a boss who didn’t say a word about the overwhelming number of personal calls I took at work today, and even asked if we needed to find a sub so I could go home.
  • I’m grateful for my cadre of Twitter friends, who banded together to keep me from crying at work and expressed an overwhelming amount of love and concern.

And I’m grateful for all of you. You keep me honest and make this crazy Year o’ Blogging a total blast.

My MIL is currently in stable condition. She’ll be at the hospital for a bit while they get her crazy BP under control. We’re not sure how this will pan out in the long run – it’s really a case of wait and see.

I know some of you are wondering about my opinion on yesterday’s surveys. I’ll share in the next few days, I promise!

*Darn right there are no writing errors. Don’t question my awesomeness, WordPress Proofreader!

Actions

Information

6 responses

22 08 2010
Jenny

Hang in there… Having lived through this with my mother-in-law ~ I understand… We will add your family to our prayers and I will try to remember to call the temple in the morning. Don’t know her name so I will just put yours, you need the prayers too. Take care. Those youngest of chaps are so close to what counts, aren’t they?

22 08 2010
danessa

Just letting you know you are in my thoughts and prayers!

22 08 2010
Christine

I think I’d rather hear the snarky one 🙂

22 08 2010
andygirl

I’m sorry to hear about your MIL. I know how stressful that must be. *hugs*

22 08 2010
Aimee

Keeping you all in my thoughts, having been there 4 times with my dad, I know that strokes can be a confusing and stressful thing. I hope they get her BP stable soon so they can know what’s next.

22 08 2010
Sharyn

Sending you all loads of virtual hugs and prayers!

Leave a Reply

