The Elevator Pitch

19 07 2010

31 Days to Build a Better Blog – Day 1

No, I’m not trying to get an elevator company to sponsor me (although if Otis is interested, I have significant elevator-riding experience). For those of you who don’t know what an Elevator Pitch is, let’s turn to our good friend, Wikipedia:

An elevator pitch or elevator speech is an overview of a product, service, person, group or organization, or project and is often a part of a fundraising, marketing communications, brand, or public relations program. The name “elevator pitch” reflects the idea that it should be possible to deliver an elevator pitch in the time span of an elevator ride, or approximately thirty seconds to two minutes.

There are two forms of the elevator pitch: the short pitch and the long pitch. Today I’m simply going to share my short pitch, because that took me long enough (an entire day to decide where I’m going and why I’m doing it) and I’d like to, you know, spend time with my family.

During the next week I’ll work on my long pitch and share that with you, since I’m sure you’re dying to hear what I have to say. It’ll probably have a bit in common with my “All About Me” page, so if you haven’t read that recently, go check it out. I updated it last night. I’m crazy like that.

I’m curious to hear any thoughts or impressions on my short pitch. It’s certainly not set in stone, so my delicate feelings won’t be hurt (much) if you don’t like it. Now that I’ve built it up, here’s the pitch:

“I help people embrace their flaws by constantly displaying my own.”

Do I enjoy writing? Of course. But ultimately, the real payoff in this is when readers tell me I struck a chord, I made them think, or I helped them laugh. That’s why I do this. Whether or not I succeed…well, you’ll have to let me know.

*Today, I have succeeded in making the WordPress Proofreader feel good. My work here is done.

Actions

Information

6 responses

28 07 2010
Adrian

Hi Jenny,

I finally made it around to your blog. One thing you might want to do in your elevator pitch – ennunciate. When you told me what your blog was, I’m sure you said “likeswimming”, but what I heard was “likes women”. Not that there’s anything wrong with that, but I was a little puzzled when you were talking about your husband and children because I thought you were playing for a whole different team, if you know what I mean. It’s actually kind of funny now that I’ve figured the whole thing out…. Guess I’ll have to turn up my hearing aid next time!

20 07 2010
Leslie

Dude. I read a lot of elevator pitches yesterday. A lot.

Yours is, by far, my favorite.

I’m going to leave it at that.

19 07 2010
Amy

you did a great job on your short pitch. I think it will make a great tagline. I think it tells enough about you and your blog to get people interested. nice job.

19 07 2010
Aimee

I love it! 🙂 Never thought of an elevator pitch before. Wondering now what mine would be. LOL.

19 07 2010
Teri Johnson

Hi! I’m taking the challenge too……so I’m checking out other bloggers. I REALLY like your ‘pitch’! It’s real. it’s honest. What you say about your payoff is EXACTLY how I feel. When we started keepingitpersonal.com back in October we decided that success to us was to impact just ONE person. If we could do that??? Then we would be happy. I’m looking forward to reading your posts. Hope you’re having a GREAT day!! 🙂

Keeping it Personal,
Teri

19 07 2010
Elyse

You are the comment above me in the ProBlogger Challange. Glad I found you. I love Mundane Monday! I think I will have to do this in my own head each week.

Leave a Reply

