Mundane Monday – 7/5/10

5 07 2010

When you’re done reading, please tell me about the ordinary moments in your lives. Last week’s comments made me inordinately happy and I’m looking forward to hearing what you have to say this week.

My brother is visiting from New Mexico. He’ll be here for a month.

Saturday night's sunset was amazing.

In the car today, Little G tried to sing along with Gwen Stefani.

I took a break from Twitter to take care of myself.

Little G discovered the popsicle wrapper doubles as a Chinese finger trap.

Rachel gave me a copy of the Cake Wrecks book. John Yates signed it “To “Jenny” Under Neat That Epi Burf Day!”

I cried with a pharmacy customer when she talked about her husband’s death.

My brother gave me a new keyboard for my laptop and now the backspace key works.

Big G decided he needed to wear a helmet everywhere.

"In case someone gets angry and hits me on the head."

My life is beautifully common.

Actions

Information

20 responses

13 07 2010
Sue

Every day on my way to work I drive by a cemetery. I am always drawn to look over and take a look at what decorations have changed, if the unfortunate circumstances have required a new space to be carved out of the ground, but mostly I look for the elderly couple. They fascinate me with their zest to get up every day and go walking around the grounds. I have seen them straightening the decorations on plots which may or may not be of any relation to them. They drive identical cars, down to the make, model, color, everything. I start wondering in my mind how they met. Are they the spouses of siblings and meet to go walking? They hold hands, did they meet after each had a passing in a relatively close period of time? I do not presume they live together because why else would they both drive to the cemetery? So many times I would like to park my car and get out just to talk to them and find out their story but don’t for fear of them running in the opposite direction or picking a new place to walk for fear that they have just met a perceived stalker. And the funny thing is I get worried about them if I see only one car and one individual walking. I become more conscious the next day to see if the other individual has returned to the routine. It is always the woman’s car that is parked in front so far. Perhaps they have altered this at times but I have yet to notice. They will sit in the car after they have walked to talk. Walking is an excellent exercise and I know it kept my grandmother healthy for many years. She would walk back and forth to a local shopping mall (approx. 1 mile away) each day for exercise and lived to be 101. In some weird way, it makes my day to see them every morning and I pray I have many more mornings to be a silent fan of their daily ritual.

7 07 2010
rachel

my kids know all the words to the “slumdog millionaire” soundtrack. even the hindi words that they don’t actually know, but they make up their own words. hilarious. also, i heard my teeny bean-sized baby’s heartbeat last week. and i feel like puking all day, but that means i’m still pregnant!

6 07 2010
Laney

I forgot to say I love your pics 🙂

6 07 2010
Laney

My husband sent me a text this afternoon. It said “You rock my world”. Silly, but it made my day.

7 07 2010
Jenny

That’s not at all silly. It’s fantastic. 🙂

6 07 2010
Melanie

I put on my abaya (a graduation gown-looking thing that I need to wear everywhere), walked over to the bank in a zillion degree weather and transferred money from my account to my fabulous yet financially irresponsible roommate’s.

6 07 2010
Amy

I got to swim with my little girls and hang out with my brother and his family. I’m ditching out on work for the next couple days and keeping my work computer turned OFF 🙂

5 07 2010
Julie

-I had a really nice nap today.

-Had a BBQ (Tri tip steak) for myself last night and it was so worth it.

-Made some S’mores on the stove.

-I’m selling things on eBay, cleaning out, simplifying and it feels so good.

5 07 2010
Corinne

I snuck chocolate from the cabinet while the kids weren’t looking so I wouldn’t have to share tonight… and it was so yummy 🙂
The kids laugh big belly laughs while they jump waves at the beach. It makes me smile every single time.
We sat on the beach and snuggled last night. The four of us, a family. And it was warm and cozy and everyone else on the beach under the fireworks was doing it too – but it felt so good.

(Thank you…)

5 07 2010
Hope

I enjoyed cold cherries from the fridge.
A long hot shower always feels more than ordinary.
My daughter is here for a visit.
I’m going to water my flowers.

5 07 2010
Mimi

I didn’t make a complete fool of myself playing piano for Primary yesterday! I actually did pretty well, huzzah!

We got some pretty sweet shots of that sunset too; it was SO amazing!!

5 07 2010
~j.

Church yesterday left me exhausted.

I didn’t take my kids to any parade today.

5 07 2010
Erika Hill

My dog barks at the drain plug from our bathtub. We have it sitting on the corner of the tub, and if we leave the shower curtain open after we’re done showering, she runs in to bark at it. If I lift it up and put it by her, she runs away. We call it “Jojo’s nemesis.”

Also, my roses are blooming. It’s so satisfying to plant something that doesn’t die after the first few weeks–not that I’m a plant killer, I can keep things alive, but the roses aren’t only alive: they’re thriving. And that’s cool.

5 07 2010
Peter

I made your list twice! Woohoo! That just made my Monday.

5 07 2010
Mom

I got to watch 4 extraordinary grandchildren oooo and ahhhh for the biggest and best fireworks ever! Life can be so exciting!

5 07 2010
b.

I took some sweet shots of that sunset too!
BEAUTIFUL!

5 07 2010
Tenille

Bryon crawls into bed with me every morning so I can give him a tickle.

5 07 2010
Kristina P.

I need that Cake Wrecks book. I wish I could have gone to the signing a couple of weeks ago.

5 07 2010
danessa

Airdree has started faling asleep on her own, Dave barbequed dinner yesterday, I got some weeding done this morning, and Naomi came to snuggle with me this morning. I love being a mommy!

5 07 2010
alexis

yesterday i was eating a popsicle and my three year-old son came up to me and said, “hey mama, are you gonna be the best sharer ever?” i couldn’t possibly have said no to that.

Leave a Reply

