Can Panties Be Snarky?

29 06 2010

A few things:

  1. Was a panty committee appointed to approve these Kotex products, or did they simply poll a random sampling of panties? (3 out of 4 panties agree…)
  2. What, exactly, did this woman find out about her panties that has her so excited? (Please don’t answer that. Seriously.)
  3. I may be the only woman who opens up a sample box of feminine hygiene products and then immediately scans the enclosed literature because she has to blog about it. I can’t decide if this is a good thing or a bad thing.

Just for you, dear readers, I took the Panty Personality Quiz. Here’s what I found out:

It's like they know me! At least, the not beige part.

*Apparently the WordPress Proofreader’s perfectly legitimate gripe with the word “Kotex” wasn’t enough. In reference to the above caption (“not beige”):

Did you mean not?

You may have used one word when you meant another. A common cause of these errors are homophones. A homophone is two words that sound alike but have different meanings and spellings. Review the definition of the word you used and the word suggested.

Review definitions:

  • knot
    a bond or tie
  • naught
    nothing
  • not
    A word used to express negation, prohibition, denial, or refusal.

Hey, WordPress proofreader? I can smell your fear.

Actions

Information

45 responses

3 07 2010
babytyche08

Great post! Anything that is pink is a plus for me.

30 06 2010
Laney

Leave it to you to write about panties. I love it!

30 06 2010
squirrelsloveacorns

I agree with the above comments stating that I don’t think I’ve ever been That Happy to have my period, nor will I ever be. Kind of ridiculous

30 06 2010
bmj2k

Being a boy, that is.

30 06 2010
bmj2k

I got “You are a pair of boy briefs,” which under the circumstances is the best I could hope for!

30 06 2010
sayitinasong

Panty personality???!!! LMAO!!!!! Does not make me want to buy Kotex though….which I am assuming was the aim of the quiz…lol

29 06 2010
Cecily R

Bwahahahahahahaha! Awesome sauce all around.

29 06 2010
The Perfectly Imperfect One

Lol I love it 🙂

29 06 2010
shenanitims

“What, exactly, did this woman find out about her panties that has her so excited?”

Sorry, but the answer’s obvious: she’s getting paid! What better revenge on your periods then to make money off them?

Either that or her answers were just right to score the Willy Wanka-esqe “golden panties.”

29 06 2010
Shady

Regarding number 3–it’s a good thing. In this case though, no matter your writing skills and wit, your findings cannot possibly be spun as anyhting besides the dumbest PR campaign ever.

Melissa
(Shady’s Mom)

29 06 2010
Beth Luwandi

Oh man! Truly funny. truly truly funny. Thanks! Also love the spell check comment; damn, that thing drives me nuts!

29 06 2010
Evie Garone

UNBELIEVABLE!!! Panties!!! Ha, Ha!!! Good for you being Freshly Pressed!!

evelyngarone.wordpress.com

29 06 2010
Michelle Brown

I loved it, thank you for the good laugh.

29 06 2010
Natalya

Too funny, I love it!

29 06 2010
Amber

This is hilarious. You TOOK the quiz!! That is the best thing I’ve heard all week. : )

29 06 2010
rachel

way to go jenny! you’re featured on the wordpress home page, AND it’s a post about panties! which, by the way, is one of my least favorite words EVER. it reminds me of a dirty old man asking what color panties you’re wearing. and now we know the answer.

29 06 2010
PurpleB

yup I’d say that was pretty interesting.

29 06 2010
paintergirl

I took the quiz too-and I’m hot pink panties-EVERYONE IS HOT PINK. They are not going to say you should wear grandma’s undies. And why Kotex?

29 06 2010
Jacquie

Let me just say that I HATE the word “panty”. But I guess “Britches Personality” lacks the necessary alliteration.

29 06 2010
Jim Hagen

I checked out the test! Now I know why dating is so hard–women think they have to act like the choices given. Totally a turnoff.

29 06 2010
stilettoteez

Funny.. I tell you when it’s my time of the month I am SOOOOOOOOO not happy.. actually they should make a comericial with a women 1. ripping off a random man’s head kind of horror movie like.. 2. a woman surrounded by tons of chocolate and holding a butcher knife with a sign that says come no closer. or 3. A woman with a heating pad laid up in bed with a bottle of booze.

That about sums it up.

29 06 2010
Jenny

During my time of the month I like to go to the grocery store and buy a pint of Ben & Jerry’s, a trashy romance novel, and a box of tampons. Then I go find the youngest, cutest male cashier in the store.

True story. I’m just that awesome.

29 06 2010
spamwarrior

So funny! Now I’m curious as to mine.

29 06 2010
teapotchronicles

Too good. I love it when people are paying attention to the funny shit of everyday life 🙂 Thanks for the laugh!

29 06 2010
Princess Genevieve

haha cute! reminded me of my middle school years and spending all that time taking internet and email quizzes searching for definition in my life. i was a lacy thong. hahaha

29 06 2010
Danica

What?

29 06 2010
danessa

heeee…panties!!

29 06 2010
scandalousmuffin

Too lazy to find the link, but this reminds of the chick who wrote a scathing letter to the company that wrote the fortune-cookie-esque “Have a happy period” on their pads.

Also, a little bit of self-whoring. I once wrote a post about companies giving bras human female names: http://scandalousmuffin.wordpress.com/2008/10/29/contemplating-bra-names/

29 06 2010
Judi

HA HA HA HA!! That is very funny! thanks for the laugh Jenny!

29 06 2010
secretlivesoftheunemployed

“You got my panties in a bunch.”

29 06 2010
Lakia

hahahah this is too funny!

29 06 2010
Tenille

oh you make me laugh. I would have never thought to read the info in my fem hygiene products to blog about it. partly because I no longer need feminine hygiene products… So glad you are knot, naught, not beige. don’t get your panties in a bunch. 🙂

29 06 2010
Marvi Marti

Great blog! reminds me of one of the big brands that says something about having a happy period…obviously male advertising staff or they’d know there is no such thing.

Also saw ads for kotex in Japan with Hello Kitty on the outside of the package which is wrong on more than a few levels.

29 06 2010
honorarynewfie

That took me a moment…… Haha !

29 06 2010
Ishita

Awesome post! you’re really funny. I really enjoyed reading it.

29 06 2010
Peter

Awesome post, but it makes me wonder: Do you do posts like this just to drive search engine traffic to your blog? I’m seeing some unfamiliar faces in the comments this morning…

29 06 2010
christian

This post was lucky enough to be featured on WordPress’ “Freshly Pressed” page today…would explain the extra traffic 😛

29 06 2010
Skylar Hope

…i didnt even know that kotex had a quiz….its kind of odd. lmao.

29 06 2010
Culture Choc 2010

Funny post.

29 06 2010
dressingmyself

Yes, didn’t anybody explain the ‘happy’ part of being a woman???

This is funny -thanks.
Also, I like the idea of a colour called ‘naught beige’ – it would be very very pale. It could be the name of a nail varnish.

29 06 2010
thecodger

After you go to all the time of buying their product and taking their quiz, the least they could do is give you a coupon for some free panties in the color of your quiz result.

The Codger
http://thecodger.wordpress.com/

29 06 2010
Aimee

Hot pink?! Oh la la!

Things like this make me laugh, so thank you for that.

29 06 2010
dennisfinocchiaro

Hahahaha hilarious! Funny post. I laughed out loud.
http://www.denwrites.com

29 06 2010
PeacockWings

haha great post!

29 06 2010
lostbutf0und

Funny!
I usually find it disturbing to see how women are always looking happy and excited when featuring in a sanitary napkin commercial…. Like they are happy to have their period.
Very disturbing.

Leave a Reply

