Don’t Like the Drugs

6 06 2010

I’ve had a lot of questions about the nature of my addiction. That’s understandable, since I’m such a nice girl.

Hee.

Seriously though, I’ve spent a long time thinking about what (if anything) to post on this topic. I’m certainly not trying to hide my recovery, but there’s a difference between oblique references and actually sharing my story.

Sharing my story isn’t an easy thing. It’s not that I’m ashamed or embarrassed. Did I make poor choices? Absolutely. Can I change those choices through self-flagellation? Nope. And even if I could, whips and chains aren’t really my scene.

The difficulty comes in knowing where to start. Recovery would be a lot easier if we could pinpoint the exact moment where things went wrong, but that’s not how it works.

This is going to be a multi-part series of posts. I might break it up with some silly stuff in between, because I can only handle so much heavy stuff before I end up in corner in the fetal position. I won’t be offended if you don’t want to read it.* I’m guessing they won’t be the funnest posts ever, though I do promise I’ll try to make my path to drug and alcohol abuse as entertaining as possible.

Exciting, ain’t it?

*I’m totally lying. I’ll cry myself to sleep at night if nobody reads these posts, and then I’ll start making a list like the one Steve Buscemi had in Billy Madison. Do you really want to be responsible for that?

**Dear WordPress Proofreader, I’m letting Steve Buscemi know that you don’t acknowledge his existence. Be afraid.

Actions

Information

11 responses

5 08 2010
Takes My Pain Away « Like Swimming

[…] Don’t Like The Drugs […]

8 06 2010
Jen

Love and hugs to you!

8 06 2010
Sue

Much love and many hugs! I am here, reading and supporting your writing!

7 06 2010
rachel

i think the wordpress proofreader might have ordered a hit on you already. but you’ve cleverly eluded him these many months. is it bad that i assume the evil proofreader is male?

7 06 2010
Annah

I agree with commenter number one. It’s free and doesn’t hurt anyone 🙂

7 06 2010
Mimi

I’ll read them!! I love you Jenny!
I’ve actually been very curious to know the story since you allude to it so often. I’m just scared to ask…

7 06 2010
hairyshoefairy

I’m glad you feel like you can share this.

7 06 2010
Judi

I’m here and not going anywhere!

7 06 2010
Kristina P.

I will be here for every word.

7 06 2010
alexis

i’m glad you’ll be sharing your story. it’s never easy, but at least it’s free. better than compulsive shopping or secret eating, right? maybe?

8 06 2010
Jenny

A good point (although I’m more of a compulsive eating, secret shopping kind of gal).

Leave a Reply

