Celebrate Good Times

18 05 2010

Come on!

I hope that song is stuck in your head all day. That’s the kind of person I am.

Today was Big G’s preschool graduation. Several things amuse me about this:

  1. Seriously? Preschool graduation?
  2. This is his second year of preschool. He misses the cutoff for kindergarten by 4 days, so he’ll have yet another year of preschool. By the time he starts kindergarten, he’ll have graduated from preschool three times. I’m guessing by then he’ll assume that graduation is a natural occurrence at the end of every school year.
  3. The kids put on a musical program, which is touching, awesome and pee-your-pants hilarious. Especially when my kid is involved.

For a long time I scoffed at the idea of preschool graduation. Why would you mark a milestone that doesn’t actually mean anything? As I get older, I realize we do these things for the sheer entertainment value out of sincere love for the children. If you ever feel down in the dumps and it happens to be May, go find yourself a preschool graduation. You’ll thank me for it. (Unless you get arrested for hanging around preschool children without one of your own.)

I realize not everyone can find a preschool graduation, so I thought I’d post an excerpt from Big G’s graduation.

I won’t be offended if you don’t watch the whole thing, but the best part happens at about 38 seconds, when the girl next to Big G starts wondering what the crap is wrong with that kid next to her. Awesome.

Don't you just want to vomit from the cuteness?

That’s Big G’s favorite classmate. I’m not going to type her name, because I’m stressing a little even posting a picture of somebody else’s child. But I really wanted you to see the looks on their faces–I’m pretty sure what we have here is Big G’s first girlfriend. We got her digits and everything.

Wait…did I just play wingman for my 4-year-old? I’m a little worried.

Actions

Information

14 responses

26 10 2010
Mundane Monday – 10/25/10 « Like Swimming

[…] on a program that involves songs and a little speaking part for each kid. Some of you may recall Big G’s graduation performance. I will say this about Big G’s performance on Sunday: at least he didn’t have a hat with […]

20 05 2010
rachel

wow, big g REALLY loves that tassle. how were you not dying of laughter while filming this?

19 05 2010
Peter

Marie and I watched the whole thing and we couldn’t stop laughing. Totally awesome and 100% Big G.

19 05 2010
Kristina P.

They are adorable.

19 05 2010
Trish

Loved it!!! My girls watched it with me & we couldn’t stop laughing. They kept saying – he just can’t stop playing with it!! Even though I have one in kindy now & one going in the fall no graduations here!! Thanks for sharing yours. 🙂

19 05 2010
Kristi {at} Live and Love...Out Loud

That is too funny! Your son stole the show, hands down. You know, it could’ve been worse. The kid at my daughter’s preschool graduation flipped the entire audience off. Like, standing in the front row with two middle fingers enthusiastically being thrust into the air. lol
Thanks for stopping by and linking your WW post up over at my place. Have a great day.

Kristi, Live and Love…Out Loud
@TweetingMama

19 05 2010
one cluttered brain

That is one of the most adorable things I have seen all day!
Really.
The messing with the grad hat is the best.
And then the clearing of the voice afterwards…
🙂

I’m going to Casual Blogger Conference too!
Yippee!!!
Can’t wait.
Hope I can say Hi to you!
I’ll be the one with the crazy lightup glasses on…:) to ease the nervousness…:))

19 05 2010
Jenny

I’ll be the one hiding in the bathroom. Thanks, social anxiety!

19 05 2010
Boquinha

LOL! Is that you coughing to get his attention? Hilarious!

19 05 2010
Jenny

Trying to get his attention is pointless. He’s having too much fun!

19 05 2010
Sherry

tassle=gaduation FAIL! 🙂

19 05 2010
BK

Congrats on the graduation! The cuteness is simply killing me. 🙂

19 05 2010
Marilyn

4 days!? I’d probably ask for an exception. I hope he loves his preschool. And just think he can do it again next year. 🙂

19 05 2010
Jenny

I considered asking for an exception, but he really loves his preschool. Also, I was one of the youngest in my class and I hated it. This way, he’ll be the first to drive, date, etc.

Leave a Reply

