Blogging Without Makeup

14 05 2010

Hey, I’ve blogged without pants, so why not without makeup?

Let’s be honest–I blog without makeup most days. In fact, I do most things without makeup. Makeup is reserved for work, church and the occasional date with Car. Sometimes if I’m feeling particularly ambitious, I’ll put on makeup for a 12-step meeting, but more often than not, I don’t bother. After all, it’s a room full of addicts and I’m pretty sure they’ve seen much scarier things than me without makeup.

At least, I hope they have. Now I’m worried I may have driven someone to relapse by showing up without makeup. Crap.

I read a post this morning from my blogging idol, The Bloggess. Please don’t visit her site if you’re easily offended. Seriously. I refuse to take the blame if you don’t listen to me. Anyway, she participated in Bloggers Without Makeup Day, and it got me thinking.

Many of you know what I look like, with and without makeup. A select few even know what I look like with crazy bedhead and stained clothes. Yet I still harbor this illusion that my online persona is somehow more glamorous and polished than the real-life me. (The things I write about are so terribly hoity-toity, you know.)

In the spirit of Bloggers Without Makeup (and to break down my own misconceptions) I present me…without makeup. In fact, I was intrigued enough that I decided document today’s process of getting ready for work. So grab some popcorn, sit back and have a gander.

On second thought, you might want to skip the popcorn. This might go over better on an empty stomach.

This is me, right out of the shower. Okay, not right out of the shower. I did all of us a favor by getting dressed before taking the picture.

I can’t believe I spent years without bangs. What was I thinking? Also, that’s totally a mole on my cheek. Not a zit. My skin is one of the few things I’m proud of, so I feel the need to point that out.

I've now blow-dried my hair, but haven't gotten around to flat-ironing it.

I really can’t manage to have a normal look on my face. I don’t know what’s up with that. But at least now you can’t see the wrinkles on my forehead, which I totally haven’t focused on until I looked at that first picture.

Hooray for the flat-iron! I find it odd that flat-ironing my hair makes the highlights stand out.

Wow. The lighting in these is really bad. Kind of makes me wonder how I manage to put on decent makeup. Crap. Maybe I don’t.

And there was much rejoicing.

I’ve decided to blame my phone for the fact that I don’t look that much different with the makeup. And the crappy lighting.

I was going for "sexy duckface," but I think I ended up with more of "I'm kind of pissed off at you and could pop a cap in you at any moment."

So there you have it. My before and after pictures. You know what? I’m nowhere near as embarrassed as I thought I’d be. That’s growth, baby!

Actions

Information

10 responses

17 05 2010
rachel

oh jenndola, you always look purty! you pull off the sexy face way better than i can. when i try it, i literally just look like a duck. and a constipated duck, at that.

17 05 2010
chelsea

Jenn…I have to say…you are one of the most beautiful women I know. Your inside and outside are stunningly gorgeous! By the way…you did an awesome job on your sexy hair!! You sassy little sex-goddess you!!! love you MISS THANG!!!

17 05 2010
Amber

Woo Woo (that was a cat call).

16 05 2010
Jodie at Mummy Mayhem

Great Jenny! Thanks for taking part. You look gorgeous.

If you want to add your linky in to the main link list, go here http://bit.ly/9rksyQ

Only thing is it closes at midnight AUS EST.

Thanks again!

15 05 2010
Alex

You have bangs haha! (I like them!)

15 05 2010
Jackie

HIYA! I found you over at MMB. Are you seriously doing a post a day? AMAZING! I’m going to have to subscribe to this feat!

You look beautiful- make up or no!

15 05 2010
Jenny

Jackie, I have to confess–I missed a day last month. But apart from the occasional hiccup, I do plan to post daily for a year. We all make rash decisions from time to time, right? I just made the mistake of committing to mine publicly. 😉

15 05 2010
Jenny, Bloggess

Gorgeous. All of them.

15 05 2010
Kristina P.

I think you’re adorable, with or without makeup!

15 05 2010
Jenny

Which is why I love you so!

Leave a Reply

