Name That Blog!

17 04 2010

I like the name of my blog. My first choice was actually “French Fries with Pepper,” but that was already taken. I know, right? Both are song titles by an amazing band, Morphine. If you haven’t read the reasoning behind my blog name, read the last paragraph here.

Tonight I’m having second thoughts about the name, largely due to the fact that I spent the evening with a roomful of bloggers. Common question: “What’s the name of your blog?” I got a few weird looks when I replied, “Like Swimming.” And I felt a bit silly giving a name that requires explanation when most people have amazingly simply names. 

So tonight I’m trying to decide if I’d be better off calling it “A Lot Like Swimming” instead of “Like Swimming.” It seems a little more user-friendly. Of course, I naturally rebel against anything that might make people enjoy my blog. I also like the simplicity of “Like Swimming.”

Basically…I haven’t a clue what I’m doing here. I’m aware this isn’t news to any of you, but I’d appreciate it if you’d pretend it is.

I know! Let’s have a poll!

*Yet again, no writing errors. I’m a goddess amongst bloggers.

Actions

Information

6 responses

18 04 2010
rachel

“like swimming” makes sense when you read the text under the title. i find it to be giggle-inducing. i just picture a person, whom i’ll call “bob”, trying to stay afloat without arms and legs. perhaps i’m the only one who thinks this is funny…..

18 04 2010
Julie Wadlinger

I also like french fries with pepper. I grew up with my dad telling me it was a good way to keep people away from your fries.

18 04 2010
Van Gessel

Maybe you could call it “A Goddess Amongst Bloggers.”

18 04 2010
Kristina P.

At least people can pronounce the words in your blog. My name is so, so lame.

It was so fun to meet you tonight! I forgot if you were coming to the fake baby shower next weekend?

18 04 2010
Alex

French fries taste really good with pepper, btw.

18 04 2010
Alex

Well, I voted for changing it (I voted twice, because I’m from Louisiana and therefore I know how to increase the odds that a poll will go the way I want it to).

But now that I read how you came up with the title I want to change my vote and I think you should keep it the way it is. Should I go back and add two votes to “Like Swimming” as well?

Leave a Reply

