An Excuse

7 04 2010

When I made the commitment to blog, I decided I wasn’t going to allow myself any excuses, and that I wouldn’t do any posts that were lame. (“Had a good day today! Life is great!”) Blogging is a type of journaling, but it’s not a “diary” per se. There’s no point in posting things without substance or thought. (Believe it or not, I really do put thought into most of my posts. Scary to think what they’d be like otherwise, isn’t it?)

You’d think–with everything that’s happened in my life up to this point–I’d know better than to define anything in absolutes. Most things aren’t simply good or bad, black or white. Life has myriad shades of gray. And maybe that’s why it’s good I made that decision to blog daily, no exceptions. It’s a gentle way to remind myself to allow for error. After all, if I miss a day blogging, nothing horrible will happen. Will I be disappointed in myself? Perhaps a little, but I’m sure I’ll get over it before long.

I’m grateful I have a chance to relearn these lessons in such a subtle manner; that I don’t need a crisis of epic proportions to smack me around before I catch on to what I’m supposed to be learning.

Today I have a sinus infection, Little G has conjunctivitis and bronchiolitis, and Big G has been vomiting all day. I decided to give myself a pass on blogging…only to discover I had something to say. Weird.

I’m off to bed with the vomiter. Fingers and toes crossed that I don’t get puked on during the night.

Actions

Information

One response

8 04 2010
Kristina P.

Yay for vomiting and blogging! And I didn’t realize you were coming to the CBC too. Woot, woot! You better come to my session. I will kill you.

Leave a Reply

