Damn you, Madison Avenue!

27 11 2009

I had an alarming realization this morning–approximately one-third of the times I hear “Nutcracker Suite,” I start singing about Smurfberry Crunch.

This got me to thinking about other songs that have been ruined by advertising. Strangely, the first one that popped into my head was also a cereal–Golden Grahams. Not that I think “So Happy Together” is an exceptional song, but it really deserves better than, “Imagine me and you, and you and me, together eating Golden Grahams…”

And I certainly cannot leave out Coca-Cola. After all, who wouldn’t like to buy the world a Coke and keep it company? (What does that even mean?)

The more I contemplate this subject, I realize that my biggest complaint is when companies change the lyrics to songs to fit their brands. Even though I’ll forever think of cruise ships when I hear Iggy Pop’s “Lust For Life,” it doesn’t particularly drive me to the brink of insanity. It’s odd (Random ad exec: “Hey, I know! Let’s use a song about sex and drugs in a commercial aimed at old people!”), but not grating.

Of course, I also have a ridiculous repertoire of lyrics to 80s cartoons and sitcoms stored in my brain, so maybe I’m the only one with this problem. For the record, I’m pretty sure this is why I keep dropping out of college. There’s no room left in my brain.

Actions

Information

One response

30 11 2009
Steve

Damn Jenn, we have the same problem. Sometimes I think my brain is a shot glass, and I’m trying ot pour a full beer into it. Simple physics teaches us that it just doesn’t fit.

Leave a Reply

